Biking the Atlantic Coast: Key West to Richmond

Last updated: May 11

Bike Ride: Key West (Florida) to Richmond (Virginia)

Week 1: Key West to Mims (Cape Kennedy)

First week -- wow, it's been tough! Since we started the bike ride so early in the season, we hadn't been on our bikes very much recently (I hadn't ridden since August.) Also, the days were very long, and we had record-high heat. Whew! Still, we survived. I rode five days straight, four of them over 65 miles (the last day I barely did 40, and was unable to do any more.) Fortunately, we have a van to help us when we need it.

Contrary to what I had heard, the drivers have been very considerate of bicyclists -- they have given us lots of space when possible, or slowed down until there was room to pass. Only one person yelled, and he yelled "get on the bike path!" which was helpful, since Dad hadn't realized there was a bike path nearby. (The bicyclist, on the other hand, have been unfriendly -- most not acknowledging a "good morning" and not signaling before they pass.)

Scenery has been lacking. Occasional glimpses of the ocean break up the strip malls, hotels, and houses.

Pictures and stories from Week 1

Week 2: Mims to Savannah

Second week -- easier than the first. Shorter days, cooler temperatures, better scenery. Also, we are getting into shape. The traffic is still heavy on at least part of most days. I think we have resigned ourselves to traffic, since the Atlantic coast is just more populated than other places we normally bicycle.

Pictures and stories from Week 2

Week 3: Savannah to Carolina Beach

Finally, we got into some lovely riding, mostly along rural roads away from the coast.

Pictures and stories from Week 3

Week 4: Carolina Beach to Richmond

I swear, the trip just started! I can't believe it's over. We had some fantastic days in this section -- the Outer Banks in North Carolina were as beautiful as everyone had promised (although also very windy, with occasional stormed thrown in.

Pictures and stories from Week 4


Week 1
Week 2
Week 3


Week 4
 

Planned Itinerary

Day Date From To Miles
1 Fri March 30 Key West, Florida
Leo's Campground
Marathon
Curry Hammock State Park
54
2 Sat March 31 Marathon Florida City
Southern Comfort RV Resort
80
3 Sun April 1 Florida City Ft. Lauderdale 76
4 Mon April 2 Ft. Lauderdale Hobe Sound
Jonathan Dickinson State Park
67
5 Tue April 3 Hobe Sound Melbourne Beach
Sebastian Inlet State Park
80
6 Wed April 4 Melbourne Beach Mims
Cape Kennedy KOA
82
7 Thu April 5 Layover day 0
8 Fri April 6 Mims Port Orange
Nova Family Campground
39
9 Sat April 7 Port Orange St. Augustine
Anastasia State Park
61
10 Sun April 8 St. Augustine Fernandina Beach
Fort Clinch State Park
70
11 Mon April 9 Fernandina Beach Jekyll Island, Georgia
Jekyll Island State Park
76
12 Tue April 10 Jekyll Island South Newport
Cathead Creek Ranch & RV Park
38
13 Wed April 11 South Newport Savannah
Skidaway Island State Park
63
14 Thu April 12 Layover day 0
15 Fri April 13 Savannah Beaufort, South Carolina
Howard Johnson
Beaufort
60
16 Sat April 14 Beaufort Ridgeville
Givhans Ferry State Park
63
17 Sun April 15 Ridgeville Andrews
Colonial Inn Motel
72
18 Mon April 16 Andrews Conway
Big Cypress Lake RV Park
52
19 Tue April 17 Conway Shallotte, North Carolina
Waterway Family Campground
49
20 Wed April 18 Shallotte, North Carolina Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach State Park
43
21 Thu April 19 Layover day 0
22 Fri April 20 Carolina Beach North Topsail Beach
Surf City Family Campground
59
23 Sat April 21 North Topsail Beach Atlantic Beach
The Sand Dollar Motel
51
24 Sun April 22 Atlantic Beach Ocracoke
Teeter's Campground
50
25 Mon April 23 Layover day 0
26 Tue April 24 Ocracoke Oregon Inlet
Oregon Inlet Campground
61
27 Wed April 25 Oregon Inlet Currituck
Bell's Campground
61
28 Thu April 26 Currituck Suffolk, Virginia
Davis Lakes and Campground
70
29 Fri April 27 Suffolk, Virginia Williamsburg
Anvil Campground
85
30 Sat April 28 Williamsburg Richmond
Holiday Inn
75